Tell Seattle City Council and Mayor to Send Zoo Elephants to a Sanctuary
Action Alert from All-Creatures.org

FROM

Friends of Woodland Park Zoo Elephants
March 2015

ACTION

Chai zoo elephant
Chai in Woodland Park Zoo

The Seattle City Council recently voted to send Chai and Bamboo to a zoo in Oklahoma where the weather is hotter in the summer and colder in the winter than it is in Seattle.

These two elephants MUST go to a sanctuary...NOT to any zoo.

Seattle’s Mayor and City Council needs to hear from everyone. If you are a Seattle or King County tax payer please let them know. Just a simple sentence and/or subject line: “Send the WPZ elephants to a sanctuary” will have a great impact.

Copy and paste this list to email the Mayor and City Council, some of the zoo board and task force members, zoo management, veterinarians and curators:

L-ExecutiveLeadershipTeam@Zoo.org, zooinfo@zoo.org, Bruce.Bohmke@zoo.org, deborah.jensen@zoo.org, Nancy.Hawkes@zoo.org, Gigi.Allianic@zoo.org, Bruce.Upchurch@zoo.org, Darin.Collins@zoo.org, Kelly.Helmick@zoo.org, Lisa.Dabek@zoo.org, Steve.Cremer@zoo.org, Russ.roach@zoo.org, group.registration@zoo.org, zoocorps@zoo.org, groupsales@zoo.org, membership@zoo.org, Jim.Bennett@zoo.org, woodlandparkzoopr@zoo.org, Laura.Lockard@zoo.org, npell57@gmail.com, Anne.Knapp@zoo.org, Kim.Haas@zoo.org, Rebecca.Whitham@zoo.org, alaico@paws.org, DeggingerG@LanePowell.com, gduvernoy@forterra.org, jmanning@cascadialaw.com, fen@cofen.com, jan@dennyhillcapital.com, bryce.seidl@outlook.com, lyn@lyntangen.com, larry.phillips@kingcounty.gov, laurie.stewart@soundcb.com, Glennkawasaki@hotmail.com, nick@secondave.com, Pattisavoy@hotmail.com,Ddevita@hotmail.com, marianne@bichselpublicaffairs.com, jwleppo@stoel.com, robliddell@comcast.net, slinker@vetmed.wsu.edu, Kirsten.Pisto@zoo.org, donations@zoo.org, Fred.Koontz@zoo.org, Jamie.Creola@zoo.org, Kathryn.owen@zoo.org, martin.ramirez@zoo.org, sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov, council@seattle.gov, Sally.Clark@seattle.gov, dow.constantine@kingcounty.gov, Kshama.Sawant@seattle.gov, Tim.Burgess@seattle.gov, wpzelephants@yahoo.com, Jean.Godden@seattle.gov, Bruce.Harrell@seattle.gov, Mike.Obrien@seattle.gov, Nick.Licata@seattle.gov, Tom.Rasmussen@seattle.gov, ed.murray@seattle.gov, chris.gregorich@seattle.gov

And/Or better yet, make direct contact:

Ed Murray, Mayor
ed.murray@seattle.gov, 206-684-4000

Sally Bagshaw, Seattle City Council, Parks Committee Chair
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov, 206-684-8801

Kshama Sawant, Seattle City Council
kshama.sawant@seattle.gov, 206-684-8016

Sally J. Clark, Seattle City Council
sally.clark@seattle.gov, 206-684-8802

Nick Licata, Seattle City Council
nick.licata@seattle.gov, 2066-684-8803

Bruce Harrell, Seattle City Council
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov, 206-684-8804

Tim Burgess, Seattle City Council
tim.burgess@seattle.gov, 206-684-8806

Jean Godden, Seattle City Council
jean.godden@seattle.gov, 206-684-8807

Tom Rasmussen, Seattle City Council
tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov, 206-684-8808

Mike O’Brien, Seattle City Council
mike.obrien@seattle.gov, 206-684-8800

Deborah Jensen, Woodland Park Zoo President
deborah.jensen@zoo.org, 206-548-2416

Or, send a letter to each of the above council members at the following address:

[Name of Council member]
Seattle City Hall PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025

Or, fax them at 206-684-8587.

INFORMATION / TALKING POINTS

Sanctuary is the humane choice that is a win for all stakeholders:

  • The Zoo saves the cost of the most expensive animals to keep and become leaders in compassion
  • Children will learn a valuable lesson in science
  • The Seattle Mayor, City Council, and citizens can be proud of their humane leadership
  • Most of all, Bamboo and Chai will have the best quality of life available.

Thank you for everything you do for animals!


Return to Action Alerts

Other information you may find useful for your activism

Find area codes
Find zip codes
Find your state legislators